my nest might be empty but my heart is full

I have never liked the term “empty nester”, even when I was nowhere near being one. It just sounds so final.  They are gone. I am thankful that has not been my experience with my children. I know that my house is now empty of people who used to live here but their presence is still richly felt in memories and photographs, even some of their belongings. It just doesn’t describe this time of life well for me. Besides, I’m not minus three children, I’m plus their three spouses and then there are the five grandchildren and counting whom I love to see walk through my door.

My husband and I now have the freedom to make spur of the moment decisions about how we will spend our time and typically we don’t have to consider anyone else’s schedule before we do. It hasn’t been “just the two of us” for thirty-five years and that does have its perks but frankly, I’m hoping that it won’t ever be just us.

Sons are indeed a heritage from the Lord,

Children a reward.” Psalm 127:3

And they are quite a reward!

With all that said, we do have to deal with changes in our life. Once again I have to give God the expectations – how I want it to be, how I thought it would be, how I dreamed it would be – and get on the path with Him as He shines His light there. I know from many experiences that what I imagine can, in no way, compare to the good things that God has planned for me. I am so grateful for the life that He has given us and no matter how I stomp my feet sometimes, I am thankful that He does not always give me what I ask for. There is no place I would rather be than held in the palm of His very capable hand.

Let your eyes look forward; fix your gaze straight ahead.

Carefully consider the path for your feet,

and all your ways will be established.”

Proverbs 4:25, 26

We are forging a new relationship with one another in our new circumstances. We are negotiating and compromising and it gets a little messy sometimes but Jesus remains the foundation on which we build. We are learning about each other again since the multitude of things that have distracted us for so many years are no longer influencing us. Most importantly, as we move forward, we still want this whole thing to honor God. We look for new ministry opportunities and we want to use our time, talents, and finances in a way that will please Him. This world will never stop changing so we hold tightly to that which will never change!

Trust in the Lord forever, because in Yah,

The Lord, is an everlasting Rock!”

Isaiah 26:4

2 thoughts on “my nest might be empty but my heart is full

  1. Love all you talked about!
    Change is healthy. Challenging too!
    But God let’s you experience it all!

    What a great family you created!
    Enjoy each day.

    Love Linda Van Nelson down in Old st Augustine

    Like

Leave a Reply

