Whose Job Is It Anyway?

My children were two, ten and fifteen. We had entered the teenage years. It’s pretty scary the first time around. Actually, it’s a little scary every time, but especially the first time.  I was having a hard time.  How could I ever be prepared for all of the “first time” experiences we would have to navigate.  All of the unexpected emotions and just plain, facing the future.  I told God that I was in over my head.  Not sure what to do or how to do it.  Well, basically, I could have and should have consulted Him a lot earlier.  My default reaction at that time was, more often than not, to try and figure something out on my own.  When that is my chosen path, I pretty quickly come to the end of my very limited abilities.  And when you are talking about impacting someone’s (or three someone’s) life, I would prefer not to be making those decisions unguided. 

In this particular instance, God very clearly impressed upon me that I needed to do what I was supposed to do.  Namely, keep God the priority in my life and He would handle the rest.  He wasn’t telling me to be hands off with my child, just to put the focus where it needed to be – on my relationship with Him.  From that healthy relationship would come other healthy relationships.  Having questions and concerns about where we are going and how to get there is not a problem but what we do with those concerns can be. When we try to carry the weight ourselves, we can be certain that there will be problems. We weren’t designed to handle things on our own. We were designed to have a close, personal relationship with our Creator.  Only He can give the strength and guidance we need to remain within the good plan He has for us. Everything about God makes Him perfect to be the Lord of our lives.

“All that He does is splendid and majestic;

His righteousness endures forever.”    Psalm 111:3

No matter what is happening in our lives or what we are concerned about, putting God first is always the solution.

But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness,

and all these things will be provided for you.”

Matthew 6:33

It is my job to be obedient and God’s job to be everything else. If you have any doubts about His qualifications, just consider a few:

Creator, Savior, Lord,

Almighty, Holy One, Master,

The Rock, Good Shepherd,

The First and The Last

He’s got pretty good credentials and He can be trusted.  It’s His job anyway and He loves doing it.  There is such peace in knowing He’s got this life of mine even when it’s complicated and more than I think I can handle.  He loves me and I am His!

One thought on “Whose Job Is It Anyway?

Leave a Reply

